Central apartment to swap for 2-3 weeks of discovery

Home exchange
Whitechapel/Spitalfields, London, England, United Kingdom
  • Apartment
  • Sleeps 2
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 bathroom

Highlights

  • Original features incl. wooden beams and iron pillars
  • Own roof terrace, an oasis in the urban landscape
  • Light, airy decor with masses of windows
  • No need for a car, everything is walkable

Split-level, loft-style apartment in converted tannery from 1870s. 1 bedroom, 1 office, roof terrace. Rest open plan, the whole apartment is airy and light. Excellent for tubes, trains, buses and cycling. In building of youngish professionals, other gay men. Very few kids/pets. Great view of London skyline (incl. Gherkin and Shard). Apartment is on 5th and 6th floors, so undisturbed and very light, with lift. In addition to having access to a communal and newly refurbished roof terrace, my apartment has its own private, south-facing terrace, which is terracotta tiled and planted to make a beautiful and enjoyable outdoor haven with a hammock, table and chairs etc. WiFi network within the apartment.

Vibrant mixture of youngish professionals and ethnicities with excellent access to all the attractions of the local markets (Brick Lane, Spitalfields, Petticoat Lane, Columbia Road Flower Market, Broadway Market, Whitechapel Daily Market and many others, all walkable) as well as supermarkets, banks, coffee bars, parks, libraries, galleries, shops and pubs etc. Since its extensive and costly refurbishment, Spitalfields Market now offers an extensive range of good-quality shops and eateries, including a variety of ethnic and continental restaurants.

Details

Interested in

  • Home exchange
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Open to suggestions

Preferred destinations

  • Canada
  • South America
  • Antwerp
  • Prague
  • Paris
  • Budapest
  • Reykjavik
  • Rome
  • Venice
  • Lithuania
  • Amsterdam
  • Oslo
  • Lisbon
  • Stockholm
  • Istanbul
  • Florida Keys
  • USA
  • Fort Lauderdale
  • Fethiye
  • Massachusetts
  • Open to offers
Preferred dates Open to offers
Preferred duration 2-3 weeks
Website Login to see website
Location: Nearest gay scene is 1 km away on foot
City
Features/amenities: Elevator / Lift, Garage, Parking, Terrace, Views, Garden
Entertainment: CD Player, DVD Player, Radio, Satellite or Cable, Stereo System, TV, Plasma / LCD TV, Video
Internet access: WiFi available, WiFi available
Activities available nearby: Convenient Transport, Cultural Attractions, Cycling, Fitness Centre / Gym, Food and Wine, Friendly Neighbours, Nightlife, Park(s), Swimming, Tourist Attractions, Shops / Markets, Theatre(s), Museums, Historical Sites
Miscellaneous: Domestic Help , Smoke-Free Zone

Map

Reviews from other users

We are very experienced home exchangers – having done 12 or so home exchanges over the years. We just returned from 2 1/2 weeks in London. We found Tim's Flat to have met all of our criteria for a great home exchange: It was extremely comfortable, in a good location with excellent public transportation. The Spitafields neighborhood combines trendy and ethnic London vibes. Tim is a great guy with a broad set of interests.

We stayed 21 days. We met Tim and his friends/ neighbors. We always have extensive correspondence before a swap. The swap exceeded our expectations.

Joel stayed in Jun 2013

Comment_edit Write a review