Victorian terrace house close to parks and tube

Home exchange
Oval/Vauxhall, London, England, United Kingdom
  • House
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms

My house is in a quiet street in a Victorian conservation area in south west London. It’s light and very spacious, with two living areas, a dining room, kitchen, two bedrooms (each with bathroom) and an office in the attic and a nice garden. It comes with all mod-cons (including wi-fi, digital TV etc).
The house is very peaceful (there’s no traffic noise), as this is a side street away from the main road, and the back of the house overlooks my – and all the neighbouring – gardens.
There are two young cats living here, Sid and Queenie, they can either stay here if you’re happy to cat sit, or go away to a chattery.
My neighbourhood is known as Oval.
There are plenty of local shops, cafes and bars and it’s close to two parks. Just north of my area is Vauxhall, which has been christened ‘VoHo’ because of the mix of bohemian shops, gardens, cafes and bars.
Other cool neighbourhoods nearby are Kennington, Clapham and Brixton.
The house is convenient for public transport (zones 1 & 2 tube stations). Oval tube is 3 minutes’ walk away (on the Northern line) and Vauxhall station (Victoria line and overground) is 10 minutes away. There are also plenty of buses into central London (either the West End or Covent Garden), taking about 20 minutes. And it’s perfectly possible to walk into central London along the river, about 45 minutes at a gentle pace. There are also bicycles for hire (the Barclay Bikes), with stations in adjoining streets.

For travellers arriving at Victoria station, my house is a short bus ride away, or two stops to Vauxhall tube. For travellers arriving at Kings Cross/St Pancras, there’s a direct route on the northern line tube to Oval station. For those travelling to Liverpool St station (from Stansted or Luton airports) you can easily get on the northern line to Oval.

There are numerous cultural landmarks within easy reach, including the Imperial War Museum, both Tates, Modern & Britain plus the South Bank (the National Theatre, the Royal Festival Hall and the London Eye). Waterloo is 10 minutes away, with two theatres and some great restaurants.

Central London and the West End is 15 minutes by tube (or a 30 minute walk), with shops, bars and other attractions. In the opposite direction, there’s Clapham, with the great Common, and lots of shops and bars. I’m also within walking distance of the Vauxhall gay scene.


Interested in

  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Weekend exchange
  • Open to suggestions

Preferred destinations

  • North America
  • South America
  • Europe
  • Australasia
  • Open to offers
Preferred dates Open to offers
Preferred duration Open to offers
Location: Nearest gay scene is 10 minutes walk
Features/amenities: Ensuite Bathroom(s), Garden, Privacy
Entertainment: CD Player, DVD Player, Radio, Satellite or Cable, Stereo System, Plasma / LCD TV, TV
Internet access: WiFi available, WiFi available
Activities available nearby: Fitness Centre / Gym, Convenient Transport, Cultural Attractions, Forest / Wood, Friendly Neighbours, Historical Sites, HIV / AIDS Resources, Nightlife, Tourist Attractions, Shops / Markets, Theatre(s), Museums, Cycling, Park(s)
Miscellaneous: Smoke-Free Zone


Reviews from other users

Matt is a great host and his house is just lovely.
The Victorian house has a nice garden and it is very confortable.
Location is excellent.

Leonardo Lema stayed in Feb 2015

We had a wonderful time in Matthew's beautiful London townhouse. Decorated with very good taste and located in a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood, we felt immediately at home. The garden is a delight and the spacious and bright rooms add to the positive atmosphere.
The Tube is at walking distance and brings you at Covent Garden in 10 minutes time. Matthew is very friendly and easy-going and all the arrangements for the house swap were easily made. We hope to return soon!

Gerald Eijt stayed in Aug 2014

Matthew is a really nice person! Exchanging our homes was a wonderful experience. We are sure we will do that again in the near future.

We loves his house. Matthew has a really good taste for decorating. If you like Scandinavian design, wood and the 50's than this is the place to stay.

The house is big yet very cosy. It's clean and comfortable. The garden is beautiful!

Make sure you visit the local food market!

Gerald Eijt stayed in Jul 2014

Comment_edit Write a review