Spacious and comfortable house near city centre

Home exchange
Stockholm, Sweden
  • House
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 bedrooms
  • 2 bathrooms

Highlights

  • Cosy and comfortable
  • Beautiful garden
  • Close to central Stockholm

Our house is beautiful and cosy, built in the 1940s with many original details preserved. It is situated in a lovely residential area about 20 minutes from central Stockholm.

We have a well equipped kitchen, large bathroom with washer and drier and bath tub/shower. Main bedroom has a king size (180 cm) bed, the childrens’ rooms each has an adult sized bunk bed (90×200cm). The downstairs living room also has a very comfortable pull-out sofa bed that sleeps two.We can also provide a baby cot (or two), high chairs and strollers.

We have a spacious, secluded garden with a sunny patio, large lawn, fruit trees, and berries.

Älvsjö is a lovely residential area with some excellent bakeries and restaurants. There is also a small lake with a popular beach a short drive from our house (or a 15-20 minute walk), as well as a small national park with beautiful forest walks (15 minute walk from our house). We have several bus stops within a 5 minute walk that will take you to the nearest shopping areas, subway station and commuter train. A 10 minute walk will take you to the commuter train which will take you to central Stockholm (7 minute ride).

The nearest downtown borough is Södermalm with many bars, cafes, restaurants, museums, galleries and shops.

In Central Stockholm and in the surrounding area there are many wonderful museums and beautiful neighborhoods. The old town might be the most spectacular with its medieval heritage still preserved. Public transportation can also easily take you to the lovely archipelago, beaches by the Baltic Sea, many lakes and national parks.

Details

Interested in

  • Home exchange
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Weekend exchange
  • Open to suggestions

Preferred destinations

  • North America
  • New York
  • Europe
  • California
  • Mexico
  • Caribbean
  • South Africa
  • Florida
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • Asia
  • Open to offers
Preferred dates Open to offers
Preferred duration Open to offers
Location: Nearest gay scene is 3 km away
City, Central, Quiet
Features/amenities: Parking, Hairdryer(s) available, Iron/ironing board available, Patio / Deck, Garden, Privacy, Terrace
Entertainment: CD Player, DVD Player, Radio, Satellite or Cable, TV, Plasma / LCD TV, Video, Stereo System
Internet access: WiFi available, WiFi available
Activities available nearby: Convenient Transport, Cultural Attractions, Cycling, Fitness Centre / Gym, Forest / Wood, Food and Wine, Friendly Neighbours, Historical Sites, Hiking, Lake, Nightlife, Park(s), Swimming, Tourist Attractions, Shops / Markets, Theatre(s), Museums
Miscellaneous: Bicycle(s) available, Children Welcome, Pets Welcome, Smoke-Free Zone, Car available

Map

Reviews from other users

Spent nearly 2 weeks in Helene and Nina's home near Stockholm. We made contact 4-5 months in advance and stayed updated regarding arrival dates for this simultaneous trade. The modern apartment with an elevator to the 2nd floor apartment was perfect, washer/dryer excellent WIFI, well stocked kitchen, lovely neighborhood. There was very easy access to Central Stockholm with a bus every 20 minutes just a block away connecting to trains and nearby direct trains. Helene provided multiple pages of advice and of things to do and see in Stockholm and surrounding area. I went some days ahead of my older brother/sister in law and partner for a family vacation. With Helen's guidance, I was able to show them around like a local. Helene's parents met me upon arrival with key and apartment briefing; how impressive after going in circles, guiding confused me in from the bus stop a minute a way after long journey from North America and 4 hour flight delay. Parents were delightful; it was nice "meeting locals" and only disappointment was not meeting Helene and Nina in person due to the simultaneous trade/travel. I highly recommend Stockholm in the summer; Helene's "locals guide" is invaluable; the apartment is close to transportation to the amazing city of Stockholm, and is close to small village like centers, forest walks, freshly baked bread and other daily delights.

James stayed in Jul 2015

Comment_edit Write a review