Beautiful, sunny penthouse apartment huge terrace citycenter

Home exchange
Trastevere/Monteverde, Rome, Italy
  • Apartment
  • Sleeps 5
  • 2 bedrooms
  • 1 bathroom

Our penthouse apartment is located in Trastevere/Monteverde, 15 minutes from Piazza Santa Maria in Trastevere and 20 minutes from Rome’s historic city center and Campo de’ Fiori (tramway Number 8). We live in a charming neighborhood on the third and top floor of a red brick palazzo. There is no elevator, but you’ll get a little extra exercise to burn off the calories gained from the wonderful Roman cuisine that you’ll eat and once you arrive you will have a breathtaking view of not only Rome but the rolling countryside surrounding the Eternal City. The terrace is enormous by Roman standards at 40 sq/m. At sunset, you can watch the sun douse the city in an ochre light, listen to the grasshoppers in the pine trees and smell the pizza being baked in the wood-oven of the pizzeria downstairs. Often a Vespa will whiz past, a reminder that little has changed in the Italian capital since “Roman Holiday” was filmed here.
The flat is about 80 sq/m, very light, airy and quiet. There is a large, open kitchen/dining area, a living room, two bedrooms (sleeps 4 persons in total), 1 bathroom with a separate bathtub and big shower. The kitchen is well-equipped if you want to try making some of the Roman dishes that you’ve eaten. We are very proud of our home. We hope you will feel at home here and treat it as you would your own house. We would extend the same courtesy to you.

A five minute walk away is one of the best local farmer markets (Mercato San Giovanni Di Dio) with fresh fish, meat, vegetables and everything you need. If you’d like, we can recommend many excellent, genuine restaurants (not tourist traps!) all over the city. Gay bars and clubs are located in Testaccio (15 min away) or along “Gay Street” next to the Colosseum (20 min). The most beautiful park of Rome (Villa Doria Pamphili) is nearby. The Trastevere train station is a short walk away. From there you can take trains to Fiumicino Airport (25 minutes), Termini train station (10 minutes) and some lovely beaches on the Tyrrhenian Sea (35 minutes).


Interested in

  • Home exchange
  • Weekend exchange
  • Open to suggestions

Preferred destinations

  • North America
  • USA
  • South America
  • Europe
  • Africa
  • Asia
  • Australasia
  • Open to offers
Preferred dates Open to offers
Preferred duration Open to offers
Location: Nearest gay scene is 15 mins walk/1,25 miles away
City, Central, Quiet
Features/amenities: Privacy, Terrace, Views, Hairdryer(s) available, Iron/ironing board available
Entertainment: CD Player, DVD Player, Radio, TV
Internet access: WiFi available, WiFi available
Activities available nearby: Convenient Transport, Cultural Attractions, Fitness Centre / Gym, Food and Wine, Friendly Neighbours, Gay Beach, Historical Sites, Nightlife, Park(s), Tourist Attractions, Shops / Markets, Sea and Sun, Theatre(s), Museums
Miscellaneous: Bicycle(s) available, Children Welcome, Smoke-Free Zone


Reviews from other users

Julius and Marta are very polite and friendly couple. They have a very beautiful home and family.

We had friendly and easy going contact. At the end
we stayed 4 days at their apartment and we had a very good and relaxing time.

The house is clean, spacious, comfortable and they have extremely good taste, everything looks beautiful and yet it is cozy and warm designed.

Mathilde, their cat, is a cute, polite and friendly "old lady".

As we didn't know Rome so well, at first we had some difficulty with the location because their tram line wasn't working. But after researching a bit, in fact the location is practical to move around.

That was a non-simultaneous swapping, so, we are now looking forward to offer our house to them in Amsterdam.

Thank you again, Julius and Marta!

Robi stayed in Jun 2015

We stayed at Jullius, Marta and Jacobo new year eve of 2012-2013. They are very nice people and the house is very nice.

Charm, clean, new and with good conections with roma's centre (10-15 min by tramway). We felt like home, we recomended for sure.

Sergi Poch stayed in Dec 2013

Comment_edit Write a review